FR EN ES
FR EN ES

Forum Ankama

Browse forums 
Ankama Trackers

Questions after first play

By WilliamB - MONSTER - November 02, 2018, 10:31:58
AnkaTracker

Hey there,

A few question after our first run :
- Do Alien monster free smash action, requiries them to roll or is the door automaticaly broken ?

- Are Ghost monster really trapped by bear trap ? 

- Does bear trap prevent Monster from being pushed as well ? Or blinded by the Flood light ?

- If you smash a door leading to a room which already had another door smashed, do you shuffle the room deck as well ?

- Since ghost can go through wall, they do not smash door, so they the victim has no time to hide and will be first card on top of deck ?

- Does the special Crittlin action of adding an extra Crittlin in the room work on crittlin already in game ?
Does this action also tap the crittlin being added ?

- How are barricade built ?

Thanks for your insight
 

0 0
Reply
Ankama intervention 2

Replying to WilliamB

Hello!
You do need to roll for it, but it doesn't count as one of your actions for the turn. That's the meaning of a "free" smash. 

See message in context
Reactions 9
Score : 103

My opinions after half-a-dozen games and several readings of the rules plus scanning internet forums:

- Aliens roll their normal number of dice for their free smash action (it's an action, not an auto-success)

- All monsters including ghosts are affected by the bear trap (even the one that plays it!). Also, it holds more than one so it is counterintuitive in many ways (maybe think of it as some kind of ghostbusters enhanced multi-shot trap :/). Ghosts can't enter the toolshed either so maybe the trap is made out of the same stuff wink

- As far as I can see, monsters caught in the bear trap can't move from the zone for any reason.

- You shuffle the deck every time a door or barricade is successfully smashed into a room

- Ghosts will find a victim on top of the pile if they are the first to enter a room and did not smash

- Which Crittlins can be added to the active Crittlin's zone and how it effects activation is unclear. This is currently being discussed on BGG too.

-The "Barricades" nocturnal event card gives each player a barricade to place over any (smashed or intact)  door during one of their turns.

0 0
Reply
Score : 124

Hey there.

So, I'm still wondering why there is place for 8 guests. The game starts off with 5 party guests and one suprise guest (2 in some cases, when using certain stunt doubles) can be added by the Knock-Knock card.

That adds up to only 6, sometimes 7 guests. Anyone found a scenario (not the provided ones, but certain card combinations) where all 8 spaces are used?

0 0
Reply
Score : 103

The "flare gun" card adds an extra surprise guest, drawn at random.

1 0
Reply
Score : 124

Ah, thank you.
You might also be able to help me with a question regarding the nocturnal event card "Rage".
"For the duration of the round, all active monsters must play 3 regular actions. All 3 must be different."
So, even mother and Father have 3 actions when this event is triggered, on the condition of being different?
So, for example, I could smash a door with the father, peek at the top card and search the room?
Or do you need to use cards to fulfill the "3 actions" requirement?

0 0
Score : 4

Be good to get some steer from the game creators on the Crittlin question above, I’m unclear on that point myself.

0 0
Reply

Hi everyone, 

just confirming everything that was said here. 

However, there seems to be a mistake in the English rulebook. See, the French rulebook states: 
"Les aliens peuvent enfoncer 1 Porte par tour sans utiliser aucune action."
which means: "aliens can Smash one door per turn without using an action"

->The actual rule is indeed that Aliens can Smash one door for free each turn. 

touchdOwn's question is really interesting here. On top of the Knock Knock and Flare Gun cards (which would only lead to 7 Guests being used) the "Found it" card allows to replay the Flare Gun for instance. 

However, upon reading this "(2 in some cases, when using certain stunt doubles)" I hope it's clear that these stunt doubles are just alternative cards for these characters. 

Regarding "Rage": So, even mother and Father have 3 actions when this event is triggered, on the condition of being different?
-> Yes, exactly, this is why the card was designed. 
 

Reply
Score : 4

Hi GWood. Any thoughts on the Crittlin question from the first post?

0 0
Reply
Score : 46

@Gwood, for the Alien, it means they do not need to roll for smash ?
They just take a door (And 1 VP) every turn ?
Or it's like the other team, "free action", which requires to roll still ?

0 0
Reply

Hello!
You do need to roll for it, but it doesn't count as one of your actions for the turn. That's the meaning of a "free" smash. 

Respond to this thread